You are here:   Focus Areas
  |  Login
ACS Focus Areas
The United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA), the oldest pan-African institution,  is one of five regional commissions under the administrative direction of United Nations (UN) headquarters. As the regional arm of the UN in Africa, it is mandated to:

  • Support the economic and social development of its 53 member States, foster regional integration, and promote international cooperation for Africa's development; and 
  • Promote the development of statistics to enhance national capacities in support of the economic and social development of Africa.

The work programme of the African Centre for Statistics (ACS) aims to revitalize and better coordinate statistics at UNECA Secretariat, enhance its statistical coordination function and help to strengthen capacities of statistical systems in Africa. It takes into account the core functions of UNECA as handed down by the UN Secretary General and the work programmes of various stakeholders in statistical development in Africa ensuring that duplication is avoided and synergy is built among the actors. The programme include the following components, namely:

  • Promotion, coordination of and advocacy for statistical activities in Africa;
  • Building a data hub at ECA for the provision of development data on Africa;
  • Basic Economic Statistics and System of National Accounts1993 and 2008;
  • Measurement of informal sector and informal employment
  • Population and Housing Censuses;
  • Support to statistical training;
  • Strengthening civil registration and vital statistics systems in Africa;
  • Strengthening household surveys capabilities in Africa;
  • Environment statistics;
  • Agricultural Statistics; and
  • Technical Assistance (TA).