...

WEBINARS 

The Shifting Nature of South Africa's Landscapre: A 24 Year Snapshot of Land and Ecosystem Change

On 2 December 2020, Statistics South Africa releases the Land and Terrestrial Ecosystem Accounts, 1990 to 2014, the first publication in its new Natural Capital series. This webinar will provide an overview of the approach, methods and results from the Land and Terrestrial Ecosystem Accounts.

Read more ...

 
Country Case - Building a Comprehensive Landscape for NCA and Policy Application in Uganda

DATE: Tuesday, November 24, 2020
TIME: 11:00 - 12:30 UTC / 13:00 - 14:30 CEST / 15:00 - 16:30 EAT / 08:00 - 09:30 EDT

The objective is, as part of  a series cof country cases, to share experiences and knowledge of countries that have developed or are in the process of developing natural capital accounts, showcasing best practices on the continent and how to apply them in their local scenarios. 
This webinar will pvovide insight in  building a comprehensive landscape for NCA and policy application in Uganda. 

Read more ... 

 
The Use of Natural Capital Accounts in Policy Scenario Analysis

Date: Thursday, October 29, 2020 
Time: 12:00 - 13:30 UTC / 14:00 - 15:30 CEST / 16:00 - 17:30 EAT / 09:00 - 10:30 ET 

Speakers
- Professor Andrea Bassi, Founder and CEO, KnowlEdge Srl and extraordinary associate professor of System Dynamics Modelling at Stellenbosch University
- Professor Josephine Musango,  School of Public Leadership, Stellenbosch University
 
The webinar is inspired by ongoing work jointly with United Nations Statistics Division to develop “Guidelines on the use of ecosystem accounts in policy scenario analysis in the context of SEEA EEA”. It aims to raise understanding within the CoP of techniques for the use of natural capital accounts, especially ecosystem accounts, in scenario analysis to inform policy decision making, drawing on examples from Africa. 

Read more ... 

 

 
Ocean Accounting – Novel Approaches to Ocean Governance

Date and time: 30 July 2020 at 1PM CET/2PM East African Time

Chair: World Bank, TBC 

Speakers:

  • Dr. Ben Milligan, Executive Secretary, Global Oceans Accounts Partnership
  • Prof. Ken Findlay, CPUT Research Chair, Cape Peninsula University of Technology’s Centre for Sustainable Oceans

The webinar will provide an introduction to oceans accounts and the potential opportunities in the increasing advancement of African ocean economies. It will also serve to introduce the Oceans Accounting Working Group, which will run under the Africa Natural Capital Accounting Community of Practice from August to December 2020. 

Read more …

 
Enabling change

Date and time: 1st July 2020 at 3:00PM Johannesburg, 4:00PM Nairobi time, 9:00AM EST 

Speakers: 

  • Sareme Gebre, Regional Coordinator for Business and Biodiversity, IUCN Burkina Faso  
  • Peter Katanisa, National Program Coordinator, Rwanda Global Programme of Sustainability, and Coordinator of Africa NCA CoP
  • Lewis Akenji, Executive Director, SEED  
  • Sebutsoe Nkoanyane, AfDB / African Development Institute
  • Luther Bois Anukur, Regional Director for IUCN Eastern and Southern Africa (moderator)

Read more …

 

 
Revision of the SEEA EEA statistical standard

Date and time: 4 June 2020 at 3:00PM Johannesburg, 4:00PM Nairobi time, 9:00AM EST

Chair: David Boko, Statistician, United Nations Economic Commission for Africa 

Speaker: Alessandra Alfieri, Chief of the Environmental Economic Accounts Section, United Nations Statistics Division

Read more…

 
Linking natural capital accounting to policy in Africa

Date and Time: 28 May 2020, 2-3PM Johannesburg/CET; 3-4 PM in Nairobi; 8 -9AM Eastern Standard Time

Chair: Ruxandra Floriou, Acting Practice Manager, World Bank Group

Speakers:

Read more…